2017 Space Calendar Released

Space.com released a calendar of space events, expected to occur in 2017.

Replicated from the Space.com article, this week's events include:

March 20: Spring is here! At 6:29 a.m. EDT (1029 GMT), the sun will cross the celestial equator traveling north, marking the vernal equinox in the northern hemisphere and the beginning of Spring. 

March 20: Low in the eastern sky in the hours before dawn, the last quarter moon will sit 2.5 degrees above the ringed planet Saturn. With Saturn rising at 2:30 a.m. local time, the pair is best viewed before 7 a.m. local time. 

March 20-24: 48th Annual Lunar and Planetary Science Conference (Woodlands, Texas)

March 21: Arianespace will launch an Ariane 5 rocket from French Guiana at 4:31 p.m. EDT (2031 GMT) carrying Brazil's Geostationary Defense and Strategic Communications Satellite (SGDC) and Koreasat 7, which will provide broadcasting and telecommunications services over Korea, the Philippines, Indonesia and India. Launch window: 4:31-7:20 p.m. EDT (2031-2320 GMT). Watch Live 

March 22: The U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space, and Technology's Space Subcommittee will hold a hearing titled "The ISS after 2024: Options and Impacts" at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT). Live streaming will be available on the committee's website, or you can watch it live on Space.com. 

March 22: Preview three upcoming spacewalks on NASA TV at 2 p.m. EDT (1800 GMT).

March 24: Space station astronauts Shane Kimbrough and Thomas Pesquet will head outside for a spacewalk at about 8 a.m. EDT (1300 GMT). Watch Live  

March 24: Orbital ATK will launch a Cygnus cargo spacecraft (OA-7) to the International Space Station from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida on an Atlas 5 rocket provided by the United Launch Alliance. Liftoff is scheduled for approximately 9 p.m. EDT (0100 GMT on March 25). Watch Live  

March 24: "Life" comes out in movie theaters today. In the science-fiction thriller, a terrifying extraterrestrial wreaks havoc on the International Space Station. Watch the trailer

March 25-26: As Mercury climbs the western evening sky in late March, it will pass close to Uranus. On Saturday, March 25, Mercury will sit 2 degrees to the right of Uranus, and then climb slightly higher the following evening. The best observing times are between 8:15 and 8:45 p.m. local time, when Mercury should be readily visible with unaided eyes. Uranus will require binoculars or a telescope. 

March 27: SpaceX will launch a Falcon 9 rocket from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida with the SES-10 communications satellite owned by SES of Luxembourg. The satellite will provide TV broadcasting and other telecommunication services for Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America and South America. It will also support offshore oil and gas exploration. Launch window: 4:58-8:58 p.m. EDT (2058-0058 GMT). Watch Live 

spacecom-graphic.png 

Click here or the graphic to see the full calendar.

 

 

 

 

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

connect

get updates