Space Calendar 2017 events

Space.com has a listing of all upcoming launches, sky events, and more. Take a look at the list of amazing sites, happenings, and experiences.

Watch NASA webcasts and other live launch coverage on our Watch Live page, and see our night sky webcasts here. (You can also watch NASA TV live via nasa.gov or YouTube.)

Find out what's up in the night sky this month with our visible planets guide and skywatching forecast. Spot the International Space Station, Hubble Space Telescope and other satellites in the sky above with this satellite tracker.

Oct. 28: International Observe the Moon Night! Institutions worldwide will discuss the importance of the moon in everything from eclipses to tides to astronomical observations.

Oct. 30: A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Koreasat 5A communications satellite from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 3:34 p.m. EDT (1934 GMT). [Watch Live]

Oct. 31: An Orbital ATK Minotaur-C rocket will launch six SkySat Earth observation satellites for Google/Skybox Imaging from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 5:37 p.m. EDT (2137 GMT). [Watch Live]

Nov. 1: NASA TV will air a live broadcast of the Senate Commerce Committee hearing on the nomination of Rep. James Bridenstine to be NASA Administrator at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT). [Watch Live]

Nov. 4-5The Taurid meteor shower will peak on the night of Saturday, Nov. 4 and the early morning of Sunday, Nov. 5. Taurid meteors will be visible from Sep. 7 to Dec. 10. This is a minor meteor shower with 5-10 meteors per hour, and light from the full moon may obstruct the view during the meteor shower's peak.

Nov. 4: The full moon will occur on Saturday, Nov. 4 at 1:22 a.m. EDT (0522 GMT). November's full moon is also known as the  Beaver Moon. [Almost-Super Beaver Moon Occults Aldebaran]

Nov. 5: Occultation of Aldebaran. For the second time this year, the moon crosses in front of the bright star Aldebaran on Nov. 5. This time the waning gibbous moon will be nearly full. The occultation will be visible from most of North America in the early evening.

 

Visit Space.com for the full listing.

 

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

connect

get updates